Awards & Honors


  • Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research (1 of 7 nationwide), Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, $35,000 (2016)
  • Principal Investigator, National Science Foundation (NSF) Grant for Innovation Corps, $50,000 (2015)
  • Newcomb Associates Award for Outstanding Research, College of Business, Oregon State University (2015)​
  • Shirley M. Lee Award for Research Excellence, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawaii at Manoa (2011-2012)
  • Runner-Up, Academy of International Business (AIB) Best Conference Paper Prize for Amol M. Joshi and Nandini Lahiri, “Information Asymmetry and Partner Selection in International Alliances” (2012)
  • Finalist (1 of 7 worldwide), Academy of Management Wiley-Blackwell Award for Outstanding Dissertation Research in Business Policy and Strategy (2012)
  • Finalist (1 of 8 worldwide), INFORMS Organization Science Dissertation Proposal Competition (2010)
  • Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Dissertation Fellowship (1 of 15 nationwide) for Entrepreneurship Research, $20,000 (2010-2011)
  • Peggy Lee & Sunil Wahal Award for Most Outstanding Ph.D. Student, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School (2009-2010)
  • UNC Provost’s Future Faculty Fellowship (1 of 25 university-wide) for Research Excellence (2010)
  • Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Honorarium for research project on “Historical Perspectives on Entrepreneurship,” $3,000 (2011-2012)
  • UNC CIBER Grant for Global Innovation Research, $3,000 (2010-2011)
  • Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and National Science Foundation (NSF) Grant #CCS600658001C for Master’s thesis research, Dartmouth College (1995-1997)


  • Byron L. Newton Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, College of Business, Oregon State University (2015-2016)
  • ​“Professor of the Semester”Award for Teaching Excellence in Full-Time MBA Core Program, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawaii at Manoa (2013)
  • “Professor of the Semester” Award for Teaching Excellence in Executive MBA Programs, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawaii at Manoa (2012)


  • Best Reviewer Award, Strategic Management Society (SMS) Conference, Global Strategy (2013)
  • Best Reviewer Award, Academy of International Business (AIB) Conference (2012)